The Policy and Advocacy Committee provides strategic direction and proposed recommendations for DEC’s policy and advocacy efforts. The Policy and Advocacy Committee works collaboratively with the governmental relations consultant and the Children’s Action Network (CAN) coordinator. The Policy and Advocacy Committee ensures DEC has a seat at the table with important stakeholders and will provide CAN with the tools needed to engage in effective advocacy. The Policy and Advocacy Committee takes a proactive stance in the drafting of policy and legislative recommendations and issue briefs.

Thank you to our dedicated DEC members volunteering to serve on the committee.
Committee Chair
Diana J. LaRocco,
Team Lead
Amanda Schwartz - Policy Lead 
Kris Pedersen - Advocacy Lead 

Karen Berman 
Clarissa Bunch 
Christina Kasprzak 
Grace Kelley 
Kristi Lunceford 
Nate Marsden 
Sara Movahedazarhouligh 
Alissa Rausch 
Samantha Riggleman 
Mark Smith 
Jami Swindell 
Kim Travers 
Jenna Weglarz-Ward 
Kristen Witzling 
DEC Governmental Relations Consultant  
Sharon Walsh 
DEC Executive Board Liaisons 
Megan Vinh, DEC Executive Board President
DEC Executive Office Contacts 
Peggy Kemp,, Executive Director
Jami Swindell,, Doctoral Intern 

Policy and Advocacy Committee Contact